Lotto America Participating States

There are 13 participating states in Lotto America, the majority of those that played Hot Lotto before it came to an end in October 2017. Of all the Hot Lotto lotteries, only New Hampshire opted out of offering Lotto America at launch, although it will join the game in February 2018.

Where You Can Play Lotto America

The following state lotteries offer Lotto America:

  • Delaware
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • West Virginia

Having a number of different state lotteries all contributing to the prize fund means that Lotto America can offer more impressive prizes than they could manage alone.

The original idea behind Hot Lotto, the game that made way for Lotto America, was to offer a medium-level jackpot game to smaller states, standing at a level between the modest prizes available on their local games and the gigantic jackpots of Powerball and Mega Millions.

Whereas lotteries in large states such as California, Florida and Texas can fund their own multimillion-dollar games, there just aren’t enough potential players in jurisdictions like Delaware and Maine. Lotto America provides players in these areas the chance to win seven or eight-figure prizes at much more competitive odds than the two nationwide lotteries.

Why Didn’t New Hampshire Join Lotto America?

Players in New Hampshire must wait until February to play Lotto America after the state lottery decided to postpone its entry into the new game. The reason given was that it would have clashed with the introduction of the state’s own Keno game.

State Lottery Rules

Each state lottery has its own rules about the period of time in which claims must be made, the taxes levied on prizes and the age you must be to play Lotto America. See the Rules page for more information.