Powerball Participating States

Powerball is available to play in 48 states and jurisdictions across the U.S. Because the game is so widely played, it can offer enormous jackpots, starting at $20 million (*During the Coronavirus pandemic, the starting jackpot may be lower than this). Select a state on the map below to find out about notable aspects of Powerball in that location, including big winners and where the revenue from ticket sales goes.

Where You Can Play Powerball

You can play Powerball in all of the following states and jurisdictions:

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington D.C
  • Washington State
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

To date, the only states not to participate in Powerball are Alabama, Alaska, Hawaii, Nevada, and Utah.

State Lottery Rules

Each state lottery has its own rules about the period of time in which claims must be made, the taxes levied on prizes and the age you must be to play Powerball. See the Rules page for more information.