Mega Millions Participating States & Jurisdictions

Mega Millions is one of the most popular multi-state lotteries in the US, and is available to play across most of the country. Forty-four states, as well as two jurisdictions, currently participate in the game. The large number of participants allows for a big starting jackpot of $40 million, which can quickly increase to nine-figure sums when it rolls over.

You can buy tickets in all of the following states and jurisdictions:

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington D.C
  • Washington State
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

To date, the only states not to participate in Mega Millions are Alabama, Alaska, Hawaii, Mississippi, Nevada and Utah, along with the jurisdiction of Puerto Rico.

State Lottery Rules

Each state lottery has its own rules about the period of time in which claims must be made, the taxes levied on prizes and the age you must be to play Mega Millions. See the Rules page for more information.