History of Lotto America

Lotto America started in 1988, when a co-operative of seven U.S. lotteries came together to offer a game in which jackpot prizes could reach tens of millions of dollars. Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Oregon, Rhode Island, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia formed the Multi-State Lottery Association in December 1987, and the first Lotto America drawing took place soon after. Find out about all the game’s key events below, including a jackpot history.